National Officials

Grahame Kelly

Grahame Kelly is the General Secretary of Mining and Energy Union.

Grahame grew up in Singleton in the NSW Hunter Valley. He started work in the coal mining industry at Warkworth in 1985, first as a trades assistant and then as a washery operator. In 1996 he was elected Lodge Secretary at Warkworth and then in 2000 he was elected to the Northern District Board of Management.

In 2003 he stepped into the role of District Vice President and in 2006 was elected District Secretary.

In November 2017 he was elected General Secretary of the Division.

Tony Maher

Tony Maher first started work in the resources industry in 1979 at Rio Tinto’s sliver lead zinc mine in Broken Hill.

Tony has been General President of the Mining and Energy Union, a division of the Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union since August 1998. Prior to that he held various positions in one of the CFMEU’s predecessor unions the Federated Engine Drivers and Firemen’s Association (FEDFA). He has been an organiser, industrial officer and campaigner, with many years experience running industrial cases in industrial tribunals on behalf of members.