The Mining and Energy Union has a District Structure which covers most of Australia. Districts directly provide services to members.

Northern Mining & NSW Energy District

In 2013 an amalgamation of the Northern District with the NSW Energy District formed the Northern Mining and NSW Energy District.

Northern Mining covers the coalfields north of Sydney, through to the Central Coast, Newcastle, Hunter Valley, Gunnedah Basin and extending to the Queensland border.

NSW Energy has members in power stations, oil refineries and chemical plants in NSW.

NSW South Western District

The South Western District covers coal and metalliferous mines and cokeworks in the NSW South Coast/Wollongong region, the Burragorang Valley near Camden, the Blue Mountains and the far west of NSW including Broken Hill.

Queensland District

The Queensland District draws its members mainly from the Bowen Basin (Collinsville in the North to Moura in the South), West Moreton (Ipswich and Rosewood), Surat Basin (Darling Downs) Coal Fields, Coal Ports and Power generation.

South Australia

South Australian members who are primarily coal mineworkers and work in metalliferous and iron ore operations, have been absorbed into the Construction & General Division's South Australian Branch.

Tasmanian District

Represents coal and metalliferous mines in Tasmania.

Victorian District

The Victorian District represents workers in metalliferous mines and Victoria's power generation industry, including gas, hydro & coal-fired power stations and brown coal and gold mines.

Western Australian District

The Western Australian District has sections covering coal mineworkers at Collie, and metalliferous mineworkers in the north of the State.